We would first like to thank David G. Poplack, MD (Elise C. Young Professor of Pediatric Oncology; former head of the Hematology/Oncology Section, Department of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine; and former Director of Texas Children’s Cancer Center) whose vision of the importance of education in preparing leaders in the field of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology provided the impetus and platform for our work. His leadership provides a model of reflective practice in action. Dr. Poplack is currently director of Global HOPE (Global Hematology-Oncology Pediatric Excellence) a program focused on building long-term capacity to treat and dramatically improve the prognosis for children with cancer and blood disorders in sub-Saharan Africa.

We would also like to express our deep gratitude to Ralph Feigin, MD. Dr. Feigin, who passed away in 2008, was the J.S. Abercrombie Professor of Pediatrics and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine and physician-in-chief of the Texas Children’s Hospital; physician-in-chief, Pediatric Services, Ben Taub General Hospital, Harris County Hospital District; chief of the Pediatric Service, Houston Methodist, Houston, Texas. Dr. Feigin was a remarkable leader. His commitment to excellence in pediatric service, education, and research was unparralled. Dr. Feigin’s many awards included the 1995 Joseph W. St. Geme, Jr. Leadership Award (given by vote of all the major pediatric clinical and research organizations) and the 2007 Howland Award from the American Pediatric Society.

The ongoing support of our former Chair of Pediatrics, Mark W. Kline, MD and Executive Vice-Chair Gordon E. Schutze has been crucial to our evolution and sustainability.

More information about Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine is available at bcm.edu/pediatrics/.

The following colleagues have been instrumental in the development of our basic methods, alternative designs and implantation across institutions.

Hematology/Oncology Section, Baylor College of Medicine Pediatrics & Texas Children’s Cancer & Hematology Center

Gladstone Airewele, MD, MPH
Carl Allen, MD, PhD
Susan Blaney, MD
Julienne Brackett, MD
Jenny Despotovic, MD
Jessica Casas, MD, MPH
Melody Hellsten, DNP, RN
Terzah Horton, MD
Titilope Fasipe, MD, PhD
Monica Gramatges, MD, PhD
Joseph Lubega, MD, MPH
Donald Mahoney, Jr., MD
Parth Mehta, MD
Casey McAtee, MD, MPH
Jodi Muscal, MD
Donald Williams (Will) Parsons, MD, PhD
Karen Rabin, MD, PhD
Nino Rainusso, MD
Jeremy Slone, MD
Ghadir Sasa, MD
Eric Schafer, MD, MHS
Peter Wasswa, MD

Academic General Pediatrics 
Armando Correa, MD
Jan Drutz, MD
Julieana Nichols, MD
Teresia O’Connor, MD, MPH
Terri Turner, MD
Margaret Wood, MD, MPH

Baylor College of Medicine Center for Medical Ethics & Health Policy
Courtney Bruce, PhD
Janet Malek, PhD
Laurence McCullough, PhD

Pediatric Cardiology
Antonio Cabrera, MD

Pediatric Critical Care
Laura Loftis, MD
Brian Rissmiller, MD

Pediatric Hospital Medicine
Erica Delbeq, MD
Lauren Hess, MD, FAAP
Geeta Singhal, MD, MEd

Pediatric Pulmonary Medicine
Shailendra Das, DO

Pediatric Residency Program
Mark Ward, MD

Baylor College of Medicine Risk Management
James Banfield, JD
Brenda Hart, JD

Texas Children’s Hospital Simulation Center
Daniel Lemke, MD
Martin Lorin, MD

U.S. Colleagues/Institutions
Kevin Bielamowicz, MD (Arkansas Children’s Hospital)
Christopher DeRenzo, MD (St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital)
Stephen Gottschalk, MD, PhD (St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital)
Amy Howells, PhD, ARNP (University of Washington, Seattle Children’s Hospital) 
Lindsey Kilburn, MD (Children’s National Medical Center)
Ching Lau, MD, PhD (Connecticut Children’s Hospital)
Dean Lee, MD, PhD (Nationwide Children’s Hospital)
Kathryn Leung, MD (Emory University)
G. Doug Myers, MD (Children’s Mercy Hospitals and Clinics, Kansas City)
Kimberly Sawyer, MD (University of Washington, Seattle Children’s Hospital) 
John A. Widness, MD (Roy J. and Lucille A Carver College of Medicine, U. of Iowa)

Canadian Colleague/Institution
Douglas Strother, MD (Alberta’s Children’s Hospital, Calgary, Canada)

Uganda Colleagues/Institutions
Dr. Philip Kasirye (Mulago National Referral Hospital)
Deogratias Munube, MBChB, MMED (Mulago National Referral Hospital)
Victoria Katasi Mwebe, MDED (Mulago National Referral Hospital)
Ruth Namazzi, MBChB, MMED (Makerere University) 

J. Douglas Alexander (formerly of Baylor College of Medicine's Center for Collaborative and Interactive Technologies) designed our former website and the software that operates it. He also offered invaluable training and consultation in its administration.

Rachel Shada, MHR provided editorial assistance.

We owe a special thanks to our patients and families who are invaluable sources of hard-won knowledge, inspiration and boundless creativity. We should always remember that our goal is to improve outcomes for those we serve. Some of the images used on this website were produced by children at Texas Children’s Cancer Center and other hospitals around the world. Making a Mark: An Exhibition of Art by Children Touched by Cancer and Blood Disorders are held each year by The Periwinkle Foundation and Texas Children’s Cancer Center. We invite you to visit the Periwinkle Arts in Medicine Program where you can see works from prior exhibitions. Please tell others about this program and encourage them to submit artwork for future exhibits.

Finally, we wish to thank the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations for the generous support of our work and the development of our website. Since 1981, the AVD Foundations has focused grants in health care on “caring attitudes” that promote the humane aspects of patient care, and in particular, programs that lead to organizational and transformational change in medical education.

The site is dedicated to our families and to health care providers everywhere who put service to others above self-interest.

Ernest Frugé, PhD
Jan E. Drutz, MD
Marc E. Horowitz, MD