For Nursing Professionals Awards and Honors

Throughout the year, our nurses are recognized for their significant contributions and accomplishments in advancing Texas Children’s mission of creating a healthier future for children and women.

Here are just a few of the system-wide recognition programs celebrating our nurses' accomplishments:

DAISY Awards

The DAISY Award is a nationwide program that rewards excellence in nursing. This award was created by the DAISY Foundation to recognize the clinical skills, extraordinary compassion and care exhibited by nurses every day. These nurses exemplify the kind of nurse that patients and families, as well as nurses, physicians and health care team members, recognize as an outstanding role model. Click here for a list of our Daisy Award honorees.

To nominate a nurse for the Daisy award, click the links below to fill out a nomination form:

Caught You Caring Awards

Launched in 2015, Caught You Caring is a system-wide program that recognizes employees for going above and beyond to provide compassion and kindness in the care of a patient, family or co-worker.  Over 200 nurses have been nominated for this prestigious award including Amanda Riddle, a staff nurse in our Epilepsy Monitoring Unit.

Nursing Excellence Awards

During National Nurses Week from May 6 to 12, Texas Children’s leadership hosts the Annual Nursing Excellence Awards that recognize several recipients for their commitment to improving nursing care and patient outcomes. The awards ceremony also honors awardees of several nursing education scholarships, including: David & Polly Roth Nursing Education Scholarship, Flo McGee Nursing Education/Professional Conference Scholarship, Len Slusser Nursing Education/Professional Conference Scholarship, Molly Mae LeBlanc Nursing Education/Professional Conference Scholarship, and Dr. Lois J. Moore Nursing Professional Conference Scholarship.

Click here to see our 2024 Nursing Excellence Award and scholarship recipients and the Texas Children’s nurses who were honored by Houston Chronicle’s Salute to Nurses during National Nurses Week.

Nursing Program - Awards and Honors


Good Samaritan Awards

The Good Samaritan Foundation Excellence in Nursing Award is awarded each year and recognizes nurses for their leadership at the bedside and the compassionate and extraordinary care they deliver to patients and their families.

Texas Children’s congratulated our 74 nurses who received the 2023 Excellence in Nursing Awards. Texas Children’s had 72 bronze winners, one silver winner (Danyelle Lewis) and one gold winner (Valentina Briceno-Marmol).

Click here for a list of our 2023 Excellence in Nursing Award recipients.