Dr. Sunita Misra awarded the 2015 Young Investigator Travel Award


Dr. Sunita Misra, a neurophysiology resident at the Texas Children’s Hospital has been selected as the winner of the 2015 Young Investigator Award by the American Epilepsy Society.

Dr. Misra obtained her MD and PhD at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in 2010. She joined the Pediatric Neurology Residency program jointly run by the Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital in 2011 and as a part of her training, she conducted research on infantile spasms in Dr. John Swann’s lab at the Cain Foundation Labs.

American Epilepsy Society (AES) is one of the oldest neurological professional organizations in the country. It seeks to promote interdisciplinary communications, scientific investigation and exchange of clinical information about epilepsy. It includes neurologists, scientists investigating basic and clinical aspects of epilepsy, and other professionals interested in pediatric and adult seizure disorders. AES’s Young Investigator Travel award recognizes 20 young investigators conducting basic, translational, or clinical epilepsy research.

Dr. Misra was selected for her excellent research project titled “Abnormal cortical network excitability in an animal model of infantile spasms”. This is a highly competitive award and she was selected from over 1,200 applications for this honor. She will present a poster of her research at the 69th Annual meeting of American Epilepsy Society that will be held in Philadelphia, PA between December 4th- 8th this year. This award will help defray the costs of her travel to the conference.