Dr. Jeffrey Magee receives the 2024 Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Excellence in Research Award


Dr. Jeffrey Magee, professor of neuroscience at Baylor College of Medicine, the Cullen Foundation Distinguished Endowed Chair at the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children's Hospital, and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, was one of six Baylor College of Medicine faculty who received the 2024 Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Award in recognition of their outstanding published scientific contributions to clinical and basic science research over the past three years. 

The awards are named in honor of pioneering heart surgeon Dr. Michael DeBakey, the first president of Baylor College of Medicine, and sponsored by the DeBakey Medical Foundation.

Dr. Jeffrey C. Magee, a distinguished neuroscientist, has made significant contributions to our understanding of fundamental hippocampal mechanisms related to learning and memory by answering longstanding questions about how information about the environment is stored and updated in the hippocampus. His groundbreaking work has reshaped our understanding of synaptic plasticity, the communication between neurons, particularly through a novel mechanism he discovered called Behavioral Timescale Synaptic Plasticity (BTSP).

More information