Research Equality in Research

Our Women Scientists

At Texas Children’s Hospital, we strive to foster an encouraging, supportive and collaborative culture that promotes the professional development of scientists and physicians of all genders. We firmly believe having a gender-balanced research faculty is critical to our success as an organization and something we are immensely proud of.

One example of where we demonstrate this commitment is in the percentage of our faculty who lead “wet lab” research – 47% of our Principal Investigators are female. This data is evidence that gender balance among research faculty is not something we merely talk about BUT is something we promote and espouse in our actions each and every day.

We celebrate Women’s Month and International Women’s Day on March 8 by highlighting some of our leading women scientists.

Texas Children’s Hospital Difference Maker

Susan M. Blaney, MD

Elise C. Young Chair of Pediatric Oncology, Baylor College of Medicine

Director, Texas Children’s Cancer and Hematology Centers

Section Chief, Hematology/Oncology, Baylor College of Medicine

Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Section of Hematology-Oncology, Baylor College of Medicine

Lisa R. Bomgaars, MD, MS

Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine

Associate Vice Chair for Research at Baylor department of Pediatrics and Texas Children's Hospital

Director of the Research Resources Office (RRO) and Clinical Research Center (CRC) at Texas Children's Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine

Katherine Yudeh King, MD

Associate Professor, Baylor College of Medicine 

Associate Vice-Chair for Research, Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital 

Co-Director, Medical Scientist Training Program

Kristy O. Murray, DVM, PhD

Professor of Pediatrics and Immunology and Microbiology

Vice-Chair for Research, Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine

Director, William T. Shearer Center For Human Immunobiology, Texas Children's Hospital

Assistant Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital

Huda Y. Zoghbi, MD

Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute

Ralph D. Feigin, M.D., Endowed Chair, Texas Children's Hospital

Professor, Departments of Pediatrics, Molecular and Human Genetics, Neurology, and Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Member, Institute of Medicine and National Academy of Sciences