Virtual visit appointments available 7 days a week from 9:00am to 11:00pm. Learn More
Car Seat Safety
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and serious injury for children over 1 year old.
In 2000, more than half of all children under 15 years killed in car crashes were unrestrained, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
Texas law requires all children younger than 8 years old, or shorter than 4'9" tall to ride in a safety seat that is appropriate for their size and height. Additionally, all passengers, no matter the age, must ride buckled up whether in the front or back seat. Watch this video on when to move your child from a booster seat to a seat belt.
The best car safety seat parents can use is one that fits their car, is easy to use and is appropriate for their child’s height and weight. The type of safety seat needed will change as a child grows.
Texas Children’s Center for Childhood Injury Prevention is committed to teaching parents how to correctly use their car seat(s). For additional information, view our car seat safety tip sheet and call our car seat line at 832-822-2277 to speak with a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician.