Dr. Kara Marshall joins the Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences


Dr. Kara Marshall, assistant professor of neuroscience and a McNair Scholar at Baylor College of Medicine, has been selected by the Pew Charitable Trust to join the Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences. 

She is among 22 researchers from across the country selected to join the program, which supports young investigators who have shown outstanding promise in science relevant to the advancement of human health. These early career scientists will receive four years of funding to support innovative studies exploring human health and medicine. 

“The Pew award is a tremendous honor and will help support exciting research directions in the lab through both financial support and through connections to an excellent community of early career scientists,” said Marshall, who is also a faculty member at the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children's Hospital. 

Marshall will explore how specific cells that sense forces, such as pressure and stretching, regulate the functionality of the gastrointestinal tract and bladder. Learn more about Marshall and her research here.  

The current class of Pew Scholars joins an alumni group of more than 1,000 scientists who have received awards from Pew since 1985. Current scholars have opportunities to network with fellow Pew-funded scientists at an annual meeting to exchange ideas across a wide variety of disciplines. 

“From vaccine development to treatments for complex diseases, biomedical research is foundational to solving some of the world’s greatest health challenges,” said Susan K. Urahn, Pew’s president and CEO. “Pew is thrilled to welcome this new class of researchers and support their efforts to advance scientific knowledge and improve human health.” 

Marshall will join the other new Scholars at the annual meeting of Pew Biomedical Programs next year to present an introductory talk along with a poster presentation. The meeting is attended by all National Advisory Committee Members who help to select this year’s scholars, and all current Pew Scholars (classes of 2020-2023), the current Pew-Stewart Scholars (classes of 2020-2023) and the Pew Latin American Postdoctoral Fellows (classes of 2021-2023).