Young Investigators Awards

In 2019, the Department of Pediatrics created this new award program to celebrate the research accomplishments of our junior faculty. To be eligible for this award, faculty must be at the rank of Instructor or Assistant Professor and must have served for least 5 years as a faculty member in the department. The faculty who are nominated for this award must demonstrate:

  • Exemplary performance in research (basic, translational, and/or clinical);
  • Success in obtaining extramural funding;
  • Consistent history of publishing high quality manuscripts that create a meaningful impact to the medical literature;
  • A willingness to contribute to the strength of the overall research activities and research training in the Department of Pediatrics;
  • The attributes of a positive role model.

2022 Awardees 

  • Sara Anvari, MD
  • Hsiao-Tuan Chao, MD, PhD
  • Ivan Chinn, MD
  • Nader Kim El-Mallawany, MD
  • Jimmy Holder, MD, PhD
  • Alexander Kay, MD
  • Geoffrey Preidis, MD, PhD

2021 Awardees 

  • Eveline Barbieri, MD, PhD
  • Austin Brown, PhD
  • Hyun-Kyoung Lee, PhD
  • Jane Montealegre, PhD
  • Nancy Moran, PhD
  • Jacquelyn Powers, MD, MS
  • Rayne Rouce, MD
  • Stephanie Sisley, MD

2020 Awardees 

  • Alexis Wood, PhD, Assistant Professor, Nutrition
  • Lisa Forbes Satter, MD, Assistant Professor, Immunology, Allergy, and Retrovirology
  • Rachel Rau, MD, Assistant Professor, Hematology-Oncology
  • Job Lopez, PhD, Assistant Professor, Tropical Medicine
  • Jayna Dave, PhD, Assistant Professor, Nutrition
  • Meenakshi Hegde, MD, Assistant Professor, Hematology-Oncology
  • Qi Wu, PhD, Assistant Professor, Nutrition
  • Andrew DiNardo, MD, Assistant Professor, Immigrant and Global Health
  • Binoy Shivanna, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Neonatology
  • Andras Heczey, MD, Assistant Professor, Hematology-Oncology
  • Christopher Rhee, MD, Assistant Professor, Baylor International Pediatric AIDS Initiative (BIPAI)
  • Vivien Sheehan, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Hematology-Oncology
  • Keila Lopez, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor, Cardiology

2019 Awardees